Award for Ian Lucas at the MELs

Award for Ian Lucas at the MELs

By Andrew Jansen
9th April
Share via

Melbourne RFC Features with 2 Awards at 3rd Annual MEL Awards

Melbourne RFC has featured at the 3rd Annual MEL Awards with two awards for the club.

Ian Lucas took out the Lifetime Achievement Award Sport, and the 1st XV took home the Team of the Year award.

Ian joined MRFC at the age of 17 in 1988 when the club had just two teams and played its home games on a hill - yes, a hill.

Ian played for the 1st XV from 1988 – 2012, he was 1st XV Captain from 1998 – 2005, and one season he was the 1st XV joint leading try scorer with 32 tries - apparently mostly 2m short of the try line, sources tell us. Post his rugby prime, Ian went on to become Senior Club Chairman for 2005 – 2011. He also served as the MRFC Representative on the MSP Committee 2005 - 2015. Ian also has strong links with the junior section of the club: he has been a M&J coach since 2011. Ian is currently Chairman of MRFC Directors (2008 – present day), and is a MRFC Honorary Life Member.

After the awards, Ian was overheard saying, "Over 30 years at this great rugby club I’ve made loads of friends, and it has been fantastic to help in any way possible to see the club grow from two men's senior teams playing on a hill and based in a pub, to where we are today - putting out 18 sides covering all ages and now with fantastic facilities."

The club congratulates Ian.

Information about The MELs:
The Melbourne Community Awards (The MELs) celebrates and rewards people who have made a difference in the community.
Awards Categories for 2019 were:
Event of the Year, Performer of the Year, Business of the Year, Lifetime in business, Retailer of the Year, Service with a Smile, Community Group of the Year, Neighbour of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Lifetime Achievement Award Sport, Manager / Coach of the Year, Sportsperson of the Year (Player), Team of the Year
The awards are supported by:
SDDC, Malcolm Roseburgh. Sainsburys, St Michaels Players, East Midlands Airport, Chip & Pin, Councillor Jim Hewlett, National Forest Spring Water, John Harrison, Life President of the MSP.

Share via